The rumors are true…

Standard

Spinning is a pretty ridiculous workout!

This morning Steph and I woke up bright and early, had a quick cup of coffee each and jaunted on over to our local yoga/cycling center for spin class!

Steph was so kind as to pay my way since she wanted a buddy and I am unfortunately too broke to afford group fitness!  I am gonna get her back as soon as I get a job…

ANYWAYS.

The class was intense!  We were in there for 45 min and by the end EVERYTHING was burning!  For those of you who haven’t ever taken a spin class, the basic concept is that you sit on an upright stationary bike, and go through different types of intervals at different levels of resistance.

In this particular class we started out with just straight pedaling at different resistances, then did some “sprints” (aka pedaling faster for 30 sec-1 min at a time), then did some upright/standing pedaling in a couple different positions, and then some more straight pedaling sitting down.

The really great thing about this class, and all group fitness really, is that being in a room with a bunch of other people doing the same thing really pushes you to keep doing the work.  I know that when I workout by myself I often slack when it starts to get hard.  In this setting there was no room to under-do it.  You can definitely go at your own pace, but I would say that for 99% of people, a group fitness class that is at/above your skill level will really push you to do a worthwhile workout.  The only thing I could think throughout my workout today is: this must be the way that people who lose a lot of weight do it.  It was without a doubt one of the most challenging workouts I have ever done.

Well that is all I’ve got!  I totally recommend spinning as a workout for people who already have a decent level of cardio endurance and are looking for a challenge!

And afterwards you can do what we did….reward yourself with a pumpkin spice latte.  Woops…

Leave a Reply

